Road Test Requirements

16- 18 requirements

You must have all of the following with you at the time of your scheduled road test*:

  • Certificate of Completion of TEEN Driver Education Course (Driver License Portion) or Certification of Completion of an Online or Parent Taught course.
  • Impact Texas Teen Drivers Certificate
    • Prior to road testing with TDI or DPS, the State of Texas Law requires that ALL individuals must watch the appropriate video. The certificate of completion must be presented within 90 days to the Texas DPS-Certified Road Test Examiner before a road test can be given.
  • Completed and signed 30-hour log.
  • If using your own vehicle:
    • Proof of valid, unexpired insurance with the tester’s name on the policy (if required)
    • Registration sticker on the windshield
    • The vehicle is required to be capable of passing an inspection-
      • It is a state law that a car registered in the state of Texas MUST have a metal front and back license plate on the exterior of the car unless there is a valid Texas Buyer’s paper plate for a recently purchased vehicle.
      • All indicator lights must be operable- right, left, front, and back blinkers, and all three brake lights
      • The horn must be operable
  • Legal Guardian or Parent must be present, but only the proctor(s) and tester are permitted in the vehicle during the test
  • Valid Texas Learner License. We cannot test prior to the 6-month date listed on the reverse side of the permit
  • You must be 16

18+ requirements

You must have all of the following with you at the time of your scheduled road test*:

  • 18-24 years of age:
    • Completed the adult driver education course in its entirety
    • A pictured restricted driver license (Learners License)**
    • Completed the Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) program.
      • Prior to road testing with TDI or DPS, the State of Texas Law requires that ALL individuals must watch the appropriate video. The certificate of completion must be presented within 90 days to the Texas DPS-Certified Road Test Examiner before a road test can be given.
  • 25 years of age or older:
    • Pictured restricted driver license (Learners License)**
    • Completed the Impact Texas Young Drivers (ITYD) program.
      • Prior to road testing with TDI or DPS, the State of Texas Law requires that ALL individuals must watch the appropriate video. The certificate of completion must be presented within 90 days to the Texas DPS-Certified Road Test Examiner before a road test can be given.

A receipt of payment is NOT proof of having a learners license

  • If using your own vehicle:
    • Proof of valid, unexpired insurance with the tester’s name on the policy (if required)
    • Registration sticker on the windshield
    • The vehicle is required to be capable of passing an inspection-
      • It is a state law that a car registered in the state of Texas MUST have a metal front and back license plate on the exterior of the car unless there is a valid Texas Buyer’s paper plate for a recently purchased vehicle.
      • All indicator lights must be operable- right, left, front, and back blinkers, and all three brake lights
      • The horn must be operable

**If you do not have a pictured restricted driver license (Learners License) and are age 18 or older you may take the written skills test at any Department of Public Safety OR attend an adult 6-hour class at The Driving Institute. The written test is given during the 6-hour class which is required for adults ages 18 to 24. After completion of the course, you will need to go to the nearest Department of Public Safety for processing.

 

*The Driving Institute provides road testing, but only the Texas Department of Public Safety can issue a drivers license. Once you test, you will still need to go to a DPS facility to be issued a Texas Drivers License.